The Republic of South Africa

The Republic of South Africa

The Republic of South Africa is a state in the southern part of the African continent. Common borders with Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe in the north, with Mozambique, Swaziland in the northeast. The coast of South Africa is washed by the Atlantic and Indian oceans. The total area exceeds 1.2 million sq. km.

The republic has three capitals – Pretoria (administrative), Cape Town (parliamentary) and Bloemfontein, where the Supreme Court is located.

South Africa is divided into nine provinces: Western Cape, KwaZulu Natal, Northwest Province, Mpumalanga, Eastern Cape, Free State, Houteng, Northern Cape, Limpopo The provinces of South Africa differ from each other not only in their size. These are inherently different worlds, each of which has a unique climate, landscape, and often the ethnic composition of the population. Perhaps that is why South Africa is often said to be the whole world in one country.

Behind Moscow by 2 hours in summer and 1 hour in winter.

Population – 44.7 million people, growth rate – 2% per year. Africans – 77% (including about 38.5% – Zulus, 27.5% – Sotho, 11.6% – Xhosa, 6.6% each – Shangaan / Tsonga and Tswana), Europeans – 11% (of which Afrikaners approximately 57.5%), colored – 9%, Indians – 3%.

According to, the capital (official) is Pretoria. The official languages ​​are English, Afrikaans, Ndebele, Xhosa, Zulu, Northern Sotho, Southern Sotho, Tswana, Swazi, Venda, Tsonga. Currency – rand. Religion – Christianity.

The climate is desert, subtropical. In South Africa, there are various climatic zones – from the desert zone to the Mediterranean climate zones and subtropics, the difference in average annual temperatures between different areas is quite significant. The seasons in South Africa are the opposite of those in the Northern Hemisphere. Summer is from October to March, and temperatures average between 15*C at night and 35*C at noon. Winter lasts from June to August with temperatures ranging from 0*C or even colder at night (Kalahari Desert, Drakensberg) to 20*C at noon. Spring (August – September) and autumn (April – May) are short. Despite regional differences, South Africa’s climate remains largely even and mild throughout the year.

In general, South Africa is a country with a dry climate and a low average annual rainfall of 502 mm. Snowfall is limited to the tops of the highest mountains. However, there are seasonal differences in some provinces. South Africa occupies one of the leading places in the world in terms of the number of sunny days per year. Sea water temperature differs in different areas – from cool 12*С-17*С depending on the season in the Cape Town area (Atlantic coast) to 21*С-26*С in KwaZulu Natal (Durban – Indian Ocean coast). The expanses of the country are covered with savannas, semi-deserts, steppes and thickets of evergreen shrubs. The richness of the flora and fauna of South Africa is not inferior to other African countries.

Interesting Facts

The highest temperature inland in the Kalahari was +52*C.

South Africa has 11 official languages.

The local population calls the country Azania.

The average life expectancy in the country is 50 years for men and 48 years for women.

Since 1921, the ultra-marathon (90 km) “the Comrades” has been held in the country. It is the world’s oldest track and field marathon race.

In 2010 South Africa hosted the FIFA World Cup.

No vaccinations are required when entering South Africa. However, it is recommended to take preventive measures against malaria. The risk of malaria exists in certain areas of the country on the border with Mozambique (Kruger Park area, Mpumalanga, Northern Province) and northeast KwaZulu Natal). For prevention, it is recommended to take special medications Lariam (meflohim). Also, as a prevention of bites, it is recommended to use protective equipment against mosquitoes in these areas, as well as to wear long-sleeved clothes in the evening.

The total length of railways is 31.7 thousand km. There are 9 large airports in the country, which annually serve 15 million passengers. There are 5 airlines on the market that carry out international air transportation: South African Airways, ComAir, Sun Air, SA Express, SA Airlink. The total length of highways is over 206,000 km, of which about 60,000 km are paved.

Duty-free can be exported: strong alcoholic beverages – 1l, wine – 2l., cigarettes – 400 pcs., or cigars – 50 pcs., gifts and souvenirs in the amount of up to 500 rand South Africa. Upon import, weapons, antiques and art are subject to mandatory customs control. If the value of imported items exceeds 10,000 South African rand, a duty of 20% of the total amount will be charged. The import of automatic and military weapons, explosives, ammunition, drugs and narcotic drugs in any form is prohibited.

The Republic of South Africa

About the author