Burkina Faso Country Facts

Burkina Faso Country Facts

Between Mali, Niger, Benin, Togo, Ghana and Cote d’Ivoire is Burkina Faso, the “countrythe incorruptible “, or” land of the sincere “.” Burkina “comes from the language of the Mossi, who make up the majority of the population.” Faso “, on the other hand, comes from the minority language Dioula. To complete the picture, another minority language was taken the Fulfuldé, the suffix -bè and coined the term “Burkinabè” for the residents of the country.

The inclusive and liberal aspirations of the Democratic Republic of Burkina Faso are reflected not only in the country name, but also in the constitution. Above all, the fact that the first steps towards equality for women were initiated in 1984 is rather rare inAfrica. This equality is now constitutionally guaranteed.

Burkina Faso, the former Upper Volta, is one of the poorest countries in the world, but it has become a household name for film lovers, because the capital of Ouagadougou hosts the largest film festival in Africa every two years – even though there are only twelve cinemas across the country gives.

Burkina Faso pulsates and shows his life with an overwhelming ingenuity in art and culture. Burkina Faso is home to over 60 ethnic groups that bring an enormous diversity of culture, dance, music, traditions and ways of life to the country. The many colorful and differently designed masks are particularly impressive. The traditional craft of mask making is a real art and requires a lot of tact. Each mask stands for something special or serves a purpose. The different masks serve different traditions.

The population of Burkina Faso is not only very conscious of tradition but also very happy to party. Celebrations take place on many occasions. Numerous ceremonies are also held on various social occasions. Most of these rites, the course of the various ceremonies, and the traditional background stories are not written down, but are passed on from generation to generation through stories.

Burkina Faso Country Facts

Area: 274,200 km² (land: 273,800 km², water: 400 km²).

Population: 16.8 million residents (July 2011, COUNTRYAAH.COM). 50 different population groups with different cultures and languages. The Mossi – mainly located in and around Ouagadougou – are the largest ethnic group with 48% – many small ethnic groups, including Bobo, Peul, Senufo, Lobi and Mande, each with about 5 – 10% of the population.

Population density: 61 people per km².

Population growth: 3.085% per year (2011, CIA).

Capital: Ouagadougou (population over 1 million, 2005).

Here is a current list of the largest cities in Burkina Faso.

Highest point: Tena Kourou, 749 m

Lowest point: Mouhou River (Black Volta), 200 m

Form of government: Burkina Faso has been a presidential republic since 1960. The constitution dates from 1991, the last constitutional amendment was made in 2000. The representative body (Assemblée des Députés Populaires) consists of 111 deputies. Burkina Faso has been independent of France since August 5, 1960, until 1984 the country was called Obervolta.

Administrative division: 45 provinces: Bale, Bam, Banwa, Bazega, Bougouriba, Boulgou, Boulkiemde, Comoe, Ganzourgou, Gnagna, Gourma, Houet, Ioba, Kadiogo, Kenedougou, Komondjari, Kompienga, Kossi, Koulpelogo, Kouritenga, Kourweogooeraba, Mouhoun, Nahouri, Namentenga, Nayala, Noumbiel, Oubritenga, Oudalan, Passore, Poni, Sanguie, Sanmatenga, Seno, Sissili, Soum, Sourou, Tapoa, Tuy, Yagha, Yatenga, Ziro, Zondoma and Zoundweogo.

Head of state: President Blaise Compaoré, since October 15, 1987

Prime Minister: Prime Minister Luc-Adolphe Tiao, since April 18, 2011

Language: The official language in Burkina Faso is French. About 60% of the population speak local languages ​​like Moore, Fon, Dioula and Gourmantche. Partly English and Arabic.

Recommended phrasebooks are the Fon phrasebook from Kauderwelsch and the Moore phrasebook from Kauderwelsch.

Religion: 45% of the population are adherents of natural religions, also about 43% Muslims and 12% Christians.

Local time: CET – 1 h. In Burkina Faso there is no change between summer and winter time.
The time difference to Central Europe is -1 h in winter and -2 h in summer.

Telephone code: 00226 or +226

Internet ID:.bf

Mains voltage: 220 V, 50 Hz.


Burkina Faso, the “Land of Honorable Men”, is located in West Africa in southern Sahara. The landlocked country borders Mali in the west and north, Niger in the east, Benin, Togo, Ghana and the Ivory Coast in the south. Until 1984 the country was called Obervolta. The capital Ouagadougou is the largest city of Burkina Faso with approximately 1.2 million residents and continues to grow due to rural exodus. The second most important city is Bobo-Dioulasso, located in the relatively green southwest, and a busy crossroads for trade in the Ivory Coast and Mali.

Here you can find a detailed topographic map of Burkina Faso.

Burkina Faso lies on the Upper Guinea threshold, which separates the Niger basin to the north from the coastal countries. This mountainous region is made up of early earth rocks (grant, gneiss, slate). The old mountains were later mostly removed and overlaid with newer rock layers, so that – apart from single mountains – a relatively flat landscape results.

Most of Burkina Faso occupy plateaus. in the middle of the country the height is about 250 m. The greatest heights are reached with 500 to 550 in the sandstone table countries of the southwest. The highest point is the Tena Kourou (749 m) at the border triangle Burkina Faso – Mali – Ivory Coast.

Steep cliffs form the transition to the plains. The plateaus mainly consist of heavily weathered, old rock (including quartzite and granite). Here the soil is barren and drained. Washed-out iron connections have settled deeper in the soil profile and hardened to a “tank” in some places. These crusts are well protected against erosion, but are almost unusable for agriculture.

While the north is dry, southern Burkina Faso is slightly rainier and consists of a forested savannah that turns north into sand and desert. The Sahara moves ever further south and threatens the narrow strip of farmland.

Burkina Faso covers the uppermost part of the catchment area of ​​some rivers, most of which are branches of the Volta: the White, the Red and the Black Volta, the Bourgouriba, the Comoe and the Leraba. Rivers such as the Sirba in the east of the country belong to the Niger catchment area, which itself does not flow over the Burkina territory. Especially in the north, the river beds (wadis) dry out outside the rainy season. Only the Black Volta and the Comoe always carry water.

Burkina Faso Population by Year (Historical)

About the author